(LV) Institute of Solid State Physics University of Latvia (ISSP)

(LV) Institute of Solid State Physics University of Latvia (ISSP)
cfi small.gif
Institute of Solid State Physics University of Latvia
Kengaraga str. 8
LV-1063 Riga

Phone: +371 7187817
Fax: +371 7132778


The research in solid state physics at the University of Latvia restarted after World War II. Since 1978 the Institute of Solid State Physics (ISSP) was established on the basis of Laboratory of Semiconductor Research and Laboratory of Ferro- and Piezoelectric Research of the University of Latvia. Since 1986 the ISSP has a status of an independent organization of the University of Latvia. Presently there are 97 researchers: 34 of them have degrees of Doctor habil., 47 - degrees of Doctor.

The main subjects of research at the ISSP are:
  • theoretical and experimental studies of electronic and ionic processes in wide-gap materials with different degree of structural ordering;
  • development of new inorganic materials (such as single crystals, glasses, ceramics, thin films) for optics and electronics;
  • design and manufacturing of scientific instruments and instruments for analytical tasks and environmental monitoring;
  • vision research, development of new technologies for psycho-physical testing and primary vision care.
The research at the ISSP is performed in close cooperation with more than 50 scientific groups all around the world. Starting from 1999 the ISSP participates in the EC 5th framework programme, that opens new opportunities to pursue the science in Latvian Republic. In 1999, the ISSP has successfully applied for European funds to organize the "Excellence Centre of Advanced Material Research and Technology".

Each year in February the ISSP organizes local conferences with participants from many Latvian scientific institutions. In 1999 the ISSP participated in the organization of the international NATO Advanced Research Workshop on "Defects and Surface Induced Effects in Advanced Perovskites", which took place in Jurmala. Two international conferences will take place on the basis of the ISSP this year: ECAPD-5 and LUMDETR 2000.

During the last years the ISSP has made efforts to participate in teaching. Three scientific collaborators of the Institute have been elected as professors of the University of Latvia. Post graduate and graduate curricula are offered in solid state physics, material physics, chemical physics, physics of condensed matter, semiconductor physics and experimental methods and instruments in physics.
The Scientific Board of the ISSP is eligible to award PhD degrees in physics in the specialities mentioned above and medical physics. The ISSP now has four divisions, namely
  • the Crystal Physics Division,
  • the Division of Disordered Material Physics,
  • the Ferroelectric Physics Division
  • and the Semiconductor Material Division.
The other seven laboratories are working in the fields of optical recording, optical materials, non-linear processes theory in solids, defect physics in ionic materials, surface physics, radiation physics and didactic systems. A Testing Laboratory specialized for physical measurements of building and other materials has been organized in the ISSP. The highest decision-making body of the Institute is the Council of 23 members, elected by the employees of the Institute. Dr. hab. M. Springis is the elected chairman of the ISSP Council. The Council appoints director and its deputy. The director of the ISSP is Dr.hab.phys. A. Sternberg; deputy director - Prof., Dr.hab.phys. A. Krumins.